The Authority is a body of five persons as per MWRRA (Amendment) Act 2016, viz.
  • Advertisement of Authority

  • Chairperson
  • Member – Water Resources Engineering
  • Member – Economics
  • Member – Groundwater Management
  • Member – Law

  • Currently these positions are held by the following:

    Position Name Date of Joining
    Member, Water Resources Engineering Mr. S. D. Kulkarni 18/11/2020
    Member, Economics Smt. Shwetali A. Thakare- 03/06/2021
    Member, Groundwater Management
    Member, Law Dr. Sadhana S. Mahashabade 10/12/2021

    Their tenure is for a period of 3 years from the date of joining.

    The Act also provides for the appointment of five special invitees, one from each river Basin Agency area, to assist the authority in taking policy decisions. The state government had appointed the following special invitees for a period of 3 years.

  • (i) Maharashtra Krishna Valley Development Corp, Pune
  • (ii) Godavari Marathwada Irrigation Development Corp, Aurangabad
  • (iii) Vidharbha Irrigation Development Corp, Nagpur
  • (iv) Tapi Irrigation Development Corp, Jalgaon
  • (v) Konkan Irrigation Development Corp, Thane